Home » Sports » More

Malinga Included in Sri Lanka’s T20I Squad against Tigers

২০১৭ এপ্রিল ০৩ ১৩:০৪:০৪
Malinga Included in Sri Lanka’s T20I Squad against Tigers

Thereport24.com Desk:

Sri Lanka’s star pace bowler Lasith Malinga was included in the squad for the upcoming two-match T20I series against Bangladesh. But Sri Lanka’s selectors have left out Kusal Mendis for the series. Mendis was Man of the Series in the three-match ODI series against the tourists, during which he scored his maiden ODI century.

“Kusal Mendis has got a long career ahead of him and we do not want to burden him with too many things. He had a very good Test and ODI series against Bangladesh and at this stage we don't want him to alter too many things in his game,” Sri Lanka’s Chairman of Selectors Sanath Jayasuriya.

Left-arm spinner Sachith Pathirana is the other player to be dropped from the squad that won the three-match series in Australia in February.

“We already have left-arm spin option in Milinda Siriwardene. If you take the Bangladesh line-up they have too many left-handers as well”, Jayasuriya explained.

Injured wicketkeeper batsman Niroshan Dickwella wasn't considered. Kusal Perera has been named in the squad, subject to fitness. Thisara Perera makes a return to the squad after two half-centuries in the ODIs against Bangladesh, including a match-winning one on Saturday at the SSC. Opener Danushka Gunathilaka and top order batsman Shehan Jayasuriya have also been drafted into the squad.

Captain Angelo Mathews was ruled out of the series with a calf injury. Mathews has not played any cricket since January when he hurt his hamstring during Sri Lanka's tour of South Africa. Mathews has recovered sufficiently from the hamstring injury. However, he is unable to bowl due to a calf injury.

Lasith Malinga, who featured in the T20Is, in Australia will lead the attack. Malinga is still unfit to play 50-over cricket and wasn't picked for the ODIs against Bangladesh but is expected to feature in the Champions Trophy in June in Wales and England.

Dinesh Chandimal wasn't considered although he returned to form during the Bangladesh series. Chandimal was axed from the T20Is in Australia after a poor tour of South Africa.

Earlier, Bangladesh announced the names of the 16 players who will form the squad for the T20 matches against Sri Lanka for the two-match T20I series against Sri Lanka in Colombo from April 4.

Allrounder Mohammad Saifuddin has received a maiden-call up to the Bangladesh the squad. The 16-member team also included offspinner Mehedi Hasan and left-arm spinner Sunzamul Islam, who too were yet to represent their country in the shortest format.

Bangladesh squad: Tamim Iqbal, Mashrafe Mortaza, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Subashis Roy, Sunzamul Islam, Nurul Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin

Sri Lanka Squad: Upul Tharanga (Captain), Dilshan Munaweera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Janith Perera (subject to fitness), Lasith Malinga, Isuru Udana, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dasun Shanaka, Vickum Sanjaya, Milinda Siriwardana, Asela Gunaratne, Seekkuge Prasanna, Chakmara Kapugedara, Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandakan and Shehan Jayasuriya.

Source: Cricbuzz

Ends/thereport24.com/S/Apr 01, 2017